Search Here

Saturday, April 16, 2011

Bamboo members regroup minus Bamboo


MANILA, Philippines – Just three months after Bamboo Mañalac made an official announcement on their band Bamboo’s website confirming long-standing rumors of a band break-up, the three members of the foursome are back with a new band.

Announcing, mainly on Facebook and through word-of-mouth to common friends, their first ever gig on Saturday, April 16, the three members of Bamboo will be seen back on stage for the first time as a new group called Hijo.

Hijo is composed of Bamboo’s Nathan Azarcon on vocals and bass, Ira Cruz on guitar and back-up vocals and Vic Mercado on drums; the rest of the band are Junji Lerma on guitar and Jay-O Orduna on keyboards.

Although the band has yet to grant an interview, a source told Bulletin Entertainment that there should be an official announcement soon.

Back in January this year, the band—through its lead singer Mañalac—wrote on their website, “It’s official – the band – it’s over.” This put a nail on the coffin and confirmed all the disbanding rumors swirling around them for some time. Although no real reason was given, Mañalac had written: “As a group, we’ve come to a point where you have to trust your gut, your heart and your head and accept that all things change.”

For his part, Cruz would only give an official statement saying the decision was “tough” but that the split would hopefully enable them to “keep their sanity and the integrity of our body of work intact”—a statement hinting at some form of internal conflict or, perhaps, individual personal unrest.

At any rate, true to Mañalac’s own statement that “Music will forever be a part of our lives… All I see are possibilities,” his band mates appear to be moving on and living up to the possibilities. Whether Azarcon and company’s new band is for keeps, the local music followers would just have to wait and see.

Hijo debuts tonight, April 16, at Route 196, Katipunan Extension, Quezon City. Also playing tonight are Radioactive Sago Project, Caliph8+Malekule, Goodleaf and the ButcherCons.


No comments:

Post a Comment




The Photos and Videos in this Blog belongs to their respective owners, Videos and Photos are only posted just for blogging purposes. We don't host any of the videos that are available on this website. We only provide links to them or post the video embed codes here.